7 types of meditation and their benefits

Credits: NatoPereira - Pixabay
7 types of meditation and their benefits
5 (100%) 1 vote

Depending on the types of problems that you suffer from, there are different types of meditation, each with particular benefits. Find out more about 7 forms of meditation, and choose the one that best matches the results you are looking for. 

1) Primordial sound meditation

Primordial sound meditation is based on mantras. A mantra is a sound, a word or a phrase that is repeated – for example, repeating the sound “ommmmm, ommmm” will prevent other thoughts from interrupting and taking your mind off your meditation. The goal is to “free your mind” of thoughts that “pollute” the spirit. This type of meditation can help recentre your energy and combat fatigue.

2) Vipassana meditation

Vipassana meditation is also referred to as “insight” meditation. It is based on breathing through the nose and identifying thoughts and emotions, simply observing them in an objective manner.

Vipassana meditation helps us understand problem situations in a new, more open way, by looking at them from the outside, which helps us take a step back and calm our stress.

3) Zazen meditation

Zazen or Zen meditation involves deep breathing, concentrating on the movement of the stomach as you inhale and exhale, like in yoga.

This type of meditation aims to slow down the rate of thinking, taking your thoughts one at a time, making it easier to free yourself from them. 

Credits: Canon EOS 1100d – Mapixel

4) Metta meditation

Metta meditation originates from Tibetan Buddhism, and is considered to promote benevolence and compassion. 

Metta meditation teaches you to be empathetic towards others, to stay positive and accept yourself and others. It is thus ideal for over-confident people who don’t pay enough attention to others, but also for people who lack confidence in themselves.

5) Kundalini meditation

Kundalini meditation aims to awaken the mind via “illumination”, using mantras, hymns, chants or quotes used to access the unconscious.

Kundalini energy is located in the lower part of the spine. Kundalini meditation can release this energy, in order to achieve illumination.

6) Chakras meditation

According to Hinduism, we all have 6 chakras, which are the body’s energy centres.

The goal is to concentrate on sounds and the positioning of the hands, while visualising each chakra in order to connect the body’s physical and emotional states.

7) Tonglen meditation

Tonglen meditation aims to address causes of suffering in order to accept them and be freed from them, notably via specific breathing exercises. It aims to help you focus on the positive, and to become more compassionate and empathetic. 


Related articles:

3 tips to say goodbye to stress in your life!

6 natural alternatives to antidepressants and anti-anxiety meds

20 ways proven by science to help you feel better